Cambridge University in 1937 is awash with ideas and idealists - to unworldly Joan it is dazzling. After a chance meeting with Russian-born Sonya and Leo, Joan is swept up in the glamour and energy of the duo, and finds herself growing closer and closer to them both. But allegiance is a slippery thing. Out of university and w... read more

Thumb_9780099575733
$27.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4
Author:Hilary Mantel
Series:Wolf Hall
Awards:Man Booker Winner 2012 NZ Listener Winner 2012

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2012 With this historic win for BRING UP THE BODIES, Hilary Mantel becomes the first British author and the first woman to be awarded two Man Booker Prizes, as well as being the first to win with two consecutive nove... read more

After a quick rereading of Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel I began Bring Up the Bodies, her second novel about Thomas Cromwell, with great anticipation, and I was not disappointed. Mantel writes so beautifully and really g... read more

Thumb_9780007353583
$29.99 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

From internationally bestselling author Andrea Camilleri, a brilliant, bawdy historical novel that will surprise even the most die-hard Montalbano fans. In 1880s Vigata, a stranger comes to town to open a pharmacy. Fofo turns out to be the son of a man legendary for having a magic garden stocked with plants, fruits, and veget... read more

Thumb_9781447265931
$38.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

I've chased him for over twenty years, and across countless miles, and though often I was running, there have been many times when I could do nothing but sit and wait. Now I am only desperate for it to be finished. In 1944, just days after the liberation of Paris, Charles Jackson sees something horrific: a man, apparently dri... read more

Thumb_9781444751949
$38.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

At the turn of the 20th century in a rural stretch of the Pacific Northwest, a solitary orchardist, Talmadge, tends to apples and apricots as if they were loved ones. A gentle man, he's found solace in the sweetness of the fruit he grows and the quiet, beating heart of the land he cultivates. One day, two teenage girls appear... read more

Thumb_9780297867913
$37.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

San Francisco, 1876: a stifling heat wave and smallpox epidemic have engulfed the City. Deep in the streets of Chinatown live three former stars of the Parisian circus: Blanche, now an exotic dancer at the House of Mirrors, her lover Arthur and his companion Ernest. When an eccentric outsider joins their little circle, secret... read more

Thumb_9781447249771
$38.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 5

Safiye had more to worry about than simply birthing this child. Her only son might not live to hear the call for morning prayers. If there ever was a time when the Empire required a male heir it was now. In the opulent royal palace of Murat III, on the shores of Constantinople, midwife Hannah Levi is charged with ensuring the... read more

Thumb_9780091946784
$37.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

My childhood name was Iwajiro, and I was eight years old when I first entered at the gates of hell...One night in eighteenth-century Japan, at the hour of the Ox, a young boy named Iwajiro sits in a state of pure concentration. At the foot of Mount Fuji, behind screen walls and amidst curls of incense smoke Iwajiro chants the... read more

Thumb_9780857868527
$36.99 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

One family. Nine momentous days. An unforgettable novel of love and folly and heartbreak.It is 1939 and although Australia is about to go to war, it doesn't quite realise yet that the situation is serious. Deep in the working-class Melbourne suburb of Richmond it is business - your own and everyone else's - as usual. And youn... read more

Thumb_9781922147691
$30.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

With beautiful blue skies, sandy beaches and glorious sunshine, the Bahamas is a slice of heaven. But in 1943, the world is at war and even paradise isn't safe ...Twenty-two-year-old Dodie Wyatt thought she had escaped her turbulent past, then one night her peace is shattered when she chooses to help a man she finds stabbed i... read more

Thumb_9780751550733
$38.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th Century for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. London, 1385. A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where pow... read more

Thumb_9780007493296
$35.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Uprooted from her home in India, Alice is raised by her aunt, a spiritualist medium in Windsor. When the mysterious Mr Tilsbury enters their lives, Alice is drawn into a plot to steal the priceless Koh-i-Noor diamond, claimed by the British Empire at the end of the Anglo-Sikh wars. Said to be both blessed and cursed, the sacr... read more

Thumb_9781409146193
$38.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

Jane Seymour is a shy, dutiful fifteen-year-old when her eldest brother, Edward, brings his bride home to Wolf Hall. Katherine Filliol is the perfect match for Edward, as well as being a breath of fresh air for the Seymour family, and Jane is captivated by the older girl. Over the course of a long, hot country summer, the two... read more

Thumb_9781408704691
$38.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

When members of a prominent family disappear from a coal-mining village - and a human eyeball is discovered in a bird's nest - the local constable sends for help from Scotland Yard's new Murder Squad. Inspector Walter Day and Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith respond, but they have no idea what they're about to get into. The village... read more

Thumb_9781405912501
$37.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2
Author:Maurice Druon
Series:The Accursed Kings

'This was the original game of thrones' George R.R. Martin The King is dead. Long live the King. Philip IV is dead and his great kingdom is in disarray. It seems the fatal curse of the Templars is plaguing the royal house of France. His son has been enthroned as Louis X; but with his disgraced wife Marguerite imprisoned in th... read more

Thumb_9780007491285
$19.99 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Geoffrey the Handsome, the virile and charming Duke of Normandy, seduces Queen Eleanor of France to spy for him in the struggle between Normandy and France and Normandy and England. Said to be the most beautiful woman in Europe, and very rich, Eleanor has not been able to give birth to an heir for France. Her liaison with Geo... read more

Thumb_9780732296698
$35.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Berlin in 1933 is in upheaval. Eleven-year-old Carla von Ulrich struggles to understand the tensions disrupting her family as Hitler strengthens his grip on Germany. Into this turmoil steps her mother's formidable friend and former British MP, Ethel Leckwith, and her student son, Lloyd, who soon learns for himself the brutal ... read more

Nophoto
$27.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

'You must not become too friendly with them,' she said. 'They are not the same as us.' 'How?' I asked. 'How are they not the same?' When seven-year-old Irish orphan Lavinia is transported to Virginia to work in the kitchen of a wealthy plantation owner, she is absorbed into the life of the kitchen house and becomes part of th... read more

Thumb_9780552779128
$27.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

The photograph of the woman is tied to a fencepost; the army chaplain hovers nearby. Peter Faber, a German soldier on the Russian front, is pledging his life to the stranger in the picture, while thousands of miles away in Berlin, the stranger is pledging the same to a photograph of him. Having never met, Peter and Katharina ... read more

Thumb_9781743316528
$37.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

The Rider has no memory of who he is, or how he came to be lying - dying - in the brutal heat of the North African desert. Rescued by a band of deserters, the Rider begins to piece together his identity, based on shards of recollection and the letters in his post bag. The Letter Bearer is unlike any other novel of World War T... read more

Thumb_9781847088246
$35.00 (NZD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2
1 - 20 of 1498 ← Previous 1 3 74 75