William Beatson was a London architect who emigrated to Nelson in 1851. He was trained at the Royal Academy, he was one of the first qualified architects “in a colony where every carpenter calls himself an Architect”.
After an unsuccessful venture into farming, he practised for the following 15 ... read more
Contains over 200 colour photographs. The book promotes 36 artists from Golden Bay. It is divided into 8 main chapters, covering the following mediums; painting (realism, landscape, abstract etc), sculpture (marble, stone, fibre, wire and wood), pottery and ceramics, photography, wearable art designers, jewellers, print-maker... read more
|Author:||Mary Neal et al|
A 31 page booklet covering the area's history, native animals, vegetation, communities and school. Rai Valley is a rural community situated between Pelorus Bridge and Nelson. The area originally known as Flat Creek, extends from the confluence of the Rai and Pelorus Rivers, to upstream of the Rai Valley township and Northw... read more
This fascinating book published to celebrate the Suter Gallery's Centennial, set the Suter Gallery in the context of the wider New Zealand artistic scene,is also a valuable reference work on New Zealand and Nelson art. It is richly illustrated from the gallery's collection, many of the works being suppo... read more
|Author:||Irvine, Bob (ed.)|
A wonderfully dierse selection of short stories with a quirky take on New Zealand life. Drawn from the "Books for Blokes" competition run by the Adult Learning Support in Nelson, these stories will catch your interest and keep you reading.
Reprint - Limited edition of 100 - Numbered and signed by author. Arguably, the motor racing on Nelson's Back Beach set the seal on the region as a summer holiday destination in the post second world war era. It was held as a two day meeting every New Year from the last day of 1949 to the New Year of 1977 and the Nelson Ca... read more
|Author:||Leith,J / Briars, J|
A history of the German settlement of Upper Moutere, originally known as Sarau.
|Author:||Nelson City Council|
Walk Nelson was published in August 2007 as a revised edition combining walks from earlier Walk Nelson publications (1998, 1999) as well as featuring some new walks and tracks. The booklet is divided into seven geographical sections with an overall map as well as route directions for each of the 56 walks included.
The Heaphy Track has a long and rich history that stretches back to pre-European times. Archaeological evidence from the mouth of the Heaphy River indicates that Maori may have been present from the late 1400s during what is referred to as the Moa-hunter period, but perhaps not continuously. A route which roughly follows the ... read more